David A. Lake Award for Best Paper presented at IPES

2018:  (2 papers) Nicole Baerg, Dominik Duell, and Will Lowe, "Central Bank Communication as Public Opinion: Experimental Evidence"; Leonardo Baccini and Stephen Weymouth, "Gone for Good: The Electoral Implications of Plant Closures and Mass Layoffs"

2017: Cameron Ballard-Rosa (University of North Carolina), Mashail Malik (Stanford University), Stephanie Rickard (London School of Economics), and Kenneth Scheve (Stanford University), “The Economic Origins of Authoritarian Values: Evidence from Local Trade Shocks in the United Kingdom”

2016: Eric Arias (New York University), "Patronage by Credit: International Sources of Patronage Spending in Developing Countries"

2015: Sung Eun Kim (Columbia University), "Media Bias against Foreign Firms as a Veiled Trade Barrier: Evidence from Chinese Newspapers"

2014: Nikhar Gaikwad (Yale University), "East India Companies and Long-Term Economic Change in India"

2013: In Song Kim (Princeton University), "Political Cleavages within Industry: Firm level Lobbying for Trade Liberalization"

2012: J. Lawrence Broz (University of California, San Diego), "The Federal Reserve as Global Lender of Last Resort, 2007-2011"

2011: Dimitar Gueorguiev (University of California, San Diego), Edmund Malesky (University of California, San Diego), and Nathan Jensen (Washington University in St. Louis), "Rents Asunder: Sectoral Rent Extraction Possibilities and Bribery by Multi-National Corporations"

2010: Stephanie Walter (University of Heidelberg), "Globalization and the Demand-Side of Politics: How Globalization Shapes Individual Perceptions of Labor Market Risk and Policy Preferences"


Presented every three years:

Best Book 

The best IPE book published in the last 3 years.

2018: Rachel Wellhausen (University of Texas at Austin), The Shield of Nationality: When Governments Break Contracts with Foreign Firms

2015: Sonal Pandya (University of Virginia), Trading Spaces: Foreign Direct Investment Regulation, 1970–2000


Best New Dataset

At the 2017 conference, Leonardo Baccini (McGill University), Manfred Elsig (World Trade Institute), and Andreas Dür (University of Salzburg) were awarded our initial prize for the best new dataset for The Design of Trade Agreements (DESTA).


Career Achievement Award

2019: Helen V. Milner

2016: David A. Lake